Should we censor our social media updates?


Social Media Status UpdateShould managers take our personal status updates with a grain of salt or should we censor ourselves?

I remember visiting my mom at work and she used to have funny Garfield cartoons about work hanging up… are social media updates the same or taking it a step further?

My personal strategy is to make sure that whatever I put in the status updates would be appropriate for everyone from my best friend to my mom to my boss.

A few of my FaceBook friends that have worked with me or do work with me now. Even if you do not have any co-worker FB friends, you still should be aware that potential employers can see Twitter updates and LinkedIn statuses…

Some Akward Status Updates for the boss:

Vent-fest with Lisa (co-worker)

Not only did you tell the world you were upset about work… You dragged Lisa down with you.

I don’t want to be here, wish it was the weekend”

I am SOOO Bored” (10:34am Monday)

Have you ever posted anything you regretted? Do you think managers should ignore or should we keep our social media appropriate for all audiences?

One Comment on “Should we censor our social media updates?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Should we censor our social media updates? « Personal Branding, shaken not stirred -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

